fbpx Skip to content

Thirteen new Compassionate Allowance Medical Conditions added by the Social Security Administration

As mentioned in my previous blog dated September 12, 2010, the Social Security Administration’s (SSA) Compassionate Allowances program moves the cases of claimants with specific medical conditions, classified as “the most serious disabilities” by SSA, faster. According to SSA, these claimants receive their social security disability decisions “within days instead of months or years.”

Effective December 10, 2011, the SSA has added 13 additional Compassionate Allowance medical conditions to the previous Compassionate Allowance list of 50 diseases and medical conditions initiated in 2008. (please see my previous blog at

The following new additions to the Compassionate Allowance program include certain cancers, adult brain disorders, a number of rare genetic disorders of children, early-onset Alzheimer’s disease, idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis, and other disorders:

1. Malignant Multiple Sclerosis
2. Paraneoplastic Pemphigus
3. Multicentric Castleman Disease
4. Pulmonary Kaposi Sarcoma
5. Primary Central Nervous System Lymphoma
6. Primary Effusion Lymphoma
7. Angelman Syndrome
8. Lewy Body Dementia
9. Lowe Syndrome
10. Corticobasal Degeneration
11. Multiple System Atrophy
12. Progressive Supranuclear Palsy
13. The ALS/Parkinsonism Dementia Complex

If you need more information, please contact the Law Office of Kathleen Flynn at 404-479-4431 or go to our website at

Back To Top